THE RACHEL

We all remember Rachel Green as the spoiled daddy’s-girl from the US sitcom Friends portrayed by Jennifer Aniston but do we remember racing out to the salons with a magazine cut out of those fashion locks known as “the Rachel” or perhaps we’d rather forget?

Hairstylist Chris McMillan created the cut using bouncy and square layers, The Rachel made its debut in season one of Friends. 

It was a fashion hit becoming very popular among women however Aniston admitted hating the do:

“Have there been disasters? I think that’s a very relative term with hair. Let’s say there have been moments I’d rather not relive, like that whole Rachel thing.

I love Chris [McMillan, her hairstylist], and he’s the vane of my existence at the same time because he started that damn Rachel, which was not my best look.

How do I say this? I think it was the ugliest haircut I’ve ever seen. What I really want to know is, how did that thing have legs?

Let’s just say I’m not a fan of short, layered cuts on me personally, so I don’t love revisiting that particular era.”

I hear ya sista… I’ve come to terms with the fact that I don’t have the cheek bones or the chiseled chin of a Greek Goddess to pull off these layers. I now declare my haircut experimentation days over!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

