Tales to give you Goosebumps. 

Goosebumps is a series of children’s horror fiction novels written by American author R.L. Stine. It’s a collection of stories that feature semi-homogenous plot structures with fictional children being involved in scary situations. Themes in the series include horror, humor and the supernatural.

Sixty-two books were published under the Goosebumps umbrella title from 1992 to 1997. Since the release of its first novel, “Welcome to Dead House”, the books have gained immense popularity and commercial success worldwide.

As of 2008, the series has sold over 350 million books worldwide in thirty-five languages and has been listed in many bestseller lists including the New York Times Best Seller list for children. The series has spawned a TV series and numerous merchandise.

The Goosebumps series falls under the children’s fiction, horror and thriller genre although R.L. Stine characterizes the series as “scary books that are also funny.”

Two common themes in the series are children triumphing over evil and kids facing horrid or frightening situations and using their own wit and imagination to escape them.

This guy was my saviour when it came to English homework because made book reports a breeze and got me so into the supernatural scene.

My fave was “The Haunted Mask” which made me think twice before putting on a Halloween costume.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: